Frequently Asked Questions and Instructions on Filling out Birth/Death Certificate Application

Who can request a certified copy of a birth certificate or a death certificate?
 Births within the past 75 years and deaths within the past 25 years are closed records.

Only a Qualified applicant can receive a copy of a birth or death certificate. The definition of a properly qualified applicant is as follows:

Title 25 181.1 (22) The registrant, or immediate family member either by blood, marriage or adoption, his or her guardian, or his or her legal agent or representative. Local, state and federal law enforcement or governmental agencies and other persons may be designated as properly qualified applicants by demonstrating a direct and tangible interest in the record when the information in the record is necessary to implement a statutory provision or to protect a personal legal property right.

• Who is considered an immediate family member?

Any of the following relationships by blood or marriage are considered to be immediate family members: self, child, parent, brother, sister, grandparent, and spouse.

• How do I get a copy of the record if I am not an immediate family member? You may send in a written, notarized statement signed by an immediate family member. The statement must give permission to Freestone County to release a certified copy of the certificate to you. The statement must also identify you by your full name, and you must present a photocopy of your picture ID with the notarized statement.

• What will you accept as a Valid ID?

A photocopy of the applicant's valid government-issued photo ID. The following are acceptable forms of ID:

State-Issued driver's license State/City/County ID Card

Student ID

Government employment badge or card

- Prison ID
- Military ID

If you do not have one of these forms of ID, two of the following forms will be accepted.

- Voter Registration Card
- Social Security Card
 Clinic or Health Insurance Card
 Hunting or Fishing License
- Credit Card Library Card

• Why do I have to send a photo ID?

Birth Certificates and Death Certificates are not open records. Access to birth certificates is restricted to qualified applicants for 75 years from the date of birth, and access to death certificates is restricted for 25 years from the date of death. An ID is required to prove your identity and to prove that you are a qualified applicant.

• What records are available?

Long Form Birth Certificates

Freestone County can provide Long Form Birth Certificates for births that were filed in Freestone County from 1903 to the present.

Short Form Birth Certificates

Freestone County can provide Short Form Birth Certificates for births that were filed in the State of Texas and are registered with the Texas Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Death Certificates

Freestone County can provide Death Certificates for Deaths that were filed in Freestone County from 1903 to the present. If you need a certificate for an out-of-county death certificate, you may visit that county or the Texas Bureau of Vital Statistics.

If you need a certificate for an out-of state birth or death, visit the National Center for Health Statistics website for more information.

All fields must be filled in or marked. The applicant has to provide a copy of their Driver's License or other accepted forms of ID. The fees have to accompany the application. Fees for Birth Certificates are \$23.00 each. Fees for Death Certificates are \$21.00 for the first one and \$4.00 each extra, as long as they are purchased at the same time, if they are purchased separately, they are \$21.00 each.